Port Talbot 2-1 Taff’s Well: Blues snatch late victory despite earthquake

Port Talbot Town emerged 2-1 victors over Taff’s Well on Saturday following a remarkable game that saw a minor earthquake take place just before half-time.

A depleted Port Talbot side went into the fixture, with a number of players from the Under-19s making their first-team debuts following a number of recent departures from the main squad – namely Jonathan Hood to Welsh Premier League Barry Town and Luke Bowen to Carmarthen.

The Blues’ first chance on goal came in the 21st minute when a Dylan Llywelyn strike from just outside the area provoked a good save from the visiting keeper.

Tom Burridge came close to scoring for the away side a few minutes later, with a thunderous strike hitting the woodwork before going out of play.

Taff’s Well broke the deadlock on the half hour mark with a Marc Jones strike hitting the gloves of Blues keeper Rory McCreesh before spinning into the back of the net.

Bizarrely, an earthquake hit the South Wales area just before half-time, with a mild tremor being felt by all in the ground.

Port Talbot equalised in the 57th minute, with a Cortez Belle header evading the grasps of the away keeper to make it 1-1.

Taff’s thought they’d scored 10 minutes later, with a decision from the linesman discounting it as off-side.

A fantastic left-footed strike from Patrick Finneral hit the back of the Taff’s Well net in the 87th minute, resulting in the Blues fans behind the goal erupting in jubilation.

Player-manager Cortez Belle was sent to the stands minutes later following a few words directed at the referee.

The result sees the Blues hang on to their 8th place in the Division One table. Today’s earthquake has also seen the club hit the websites of several newspapers including a live radio fan interview with TalkSport amongst other stations. #UnbelievablePTT

Port Talbot XI: Rory McCreesh; Jay Williams, Kieran Miller, Lewis Holmes (c), Rhys Owen; Chris Keane, Patrick Finneral, Craig Jones; Cortez Belle, Matthew Elliot, Dylan Llywelyn.

Taff’s Well XI: Josh Gouild; Aaron Thomas, Abdul Mohshin, Tom Burridge, Craig McDonnall; Ricky Hodge (c), Kyle Williams, Warren Jones; Sam Johnson, Marcus Jones, Jamel Roberts.

Attendance: 188

Images courtesy of Lewis Mitchell.