Port Talbot 1-3 Llanelli Town: Reds crowned Division One champions

Llanelli Town were crowned Welsh League Division One champions on Saturday afternoon with a 3-1 win over Port Talbot Town at Victoria Road Stadium.

Former Blue Chris Jones opened the scoring for the visitors on 24 minutes, putting an end to a relatively even opening period.

A Lee Trundle header just wide of the target a few minutes later came close to making it 2-0.

Port Talbot equalised on the half hour mark with a ball from Cortez Belle finding the run of Chris Keane, who slotted home.

A foul on Trundle in the Blues penalty area saw the referee point to the spot on 42 minutes. A fantastic save from Rory McCreesh meant the home side entered the half-time break all level.

Trundle was back in the spotlight after the restart with a left footed effort evading the grasps of McCreesh in the Port Talbot goal.

James Loveridge made it 3-1 ten minutes later. The former Blue almost nabbed a second just before the full-time whistle with a 30-yard strike going just wide.

The Reds, who’ve had a more than terbulant existance in the last 5 years or so, were crowned Division One champions at the full-time whistle. Providing they meet Domestic License requirements, they will take their place in the Welsh Premier League next season.

Port Talbot’s final fixture of the season takes place on Friday, April 27th at Victoria Road against Cambrian & Clydach. Kick off 7.30pm.

Port Talbot XI: Rory McCreesh; Callum John, Jordan Pike, Chris Keane, Rhys Owen; Lewis Holmes (c), Dylan Llywellyn, Bailey Jones, Cortez Belle; Josh Humphreys, Morgan Thomas.

Llanelli Town XI: Craig Morris; Kyle Graves, Antonio Faccuito, Anthony Finselbach, Chris Thomas; Robert Thomas, Chris Jones, Ross Jones; Joe Clarke (c); Lee Trundle, James Loveridge.

Attendance: 419

Images courtesy of Lewis Mitchell Photography