Glenhafod Park Delight

Goytre United 1-4 Port Talbot Town

Port Talbot Town made a number of changes to their starting line-up for this local derby friendly with Liam McCreesh, Nicky Holland, Martin Rose, Matthew Thompson and Gareth Phillips all unavailable while Goytre United started the match with their new strike force of Richard French and the returning Richard Ryan. Neither side made an immediate impression on the match although Daniel Thomas came close to scoring for Port Talbot Town against his former club when he charged down a clearance from the Goytre keeper but the ball spun wide of the post. Lee John and Thomas combined well on the left in the opening exchanges although Goytre caused problems at the other end on the counter-attack and came close to taking the lead themselves as they tested goalkeeper Kristian Rogers.

Port Talbot Town opened the scoring after a spell of pressure as Lee Surman headed home a Lee John free-kick on 37 minutes. On 44 minutes a foul by captain Matthew Rees on Richard Ryan at the other end saw referee Ian Hollyoake point to the penalty spot as Ryan returned to his feet to take the resulting spot-kick. A save from Rogers pushed the ball against the post and despite the rebound falling to the feet of the advancing Goytre forwards, Rogers sprung back up to make a superb double save. Port Talbot extended their lead early in the second half through Daniel Thomas as he headed home at the back post to make amends for an early header that went wide from close range.

A series of substitutions for the visitors saw new signing Andy Boslem impress at right back and Gary Bansor at centre-half but it was young sub Sam Baker who scored the third goal on 77 minutes. Neil Thomas made it four on 86 minutes but Goytre grabbed a consolation though a Geza Hajgato penalty just before the final whistle. An injury to Hajgato brought the game to a close and complete a convincing win for Mark Jones side.

Pre-Season Friendly

Tuesday, 28th July 2009

at Glenhafod Park, Goytre.

Goytre United 1-4 Port Talbot Town


Goytre United

Geza Hajgato (90 minutes) (p)

Port Talbot Town

Lee Surman (37 minutes)

Daniel Thomas (53 minutes)

Sam Baker (77 minutes)

Neil Thomas (86 minutes)

Attendance – 96

Referee – Mr Ian Hollyoake