Blues Keep Their Cool At Prestatyn

Manager Mark Jones named an attacking line-up for this away Welsh Premier League fixture as Martin Rose and Liam McCreesh were joined by Daniel Thomas and Drew Fahiya in a positive approach to the match. The opening goal arrived on 30 minutes as Martin Rose scored with a superb header following an attacking run on the left from Lloyd Grist enabled him to create himself enough space to cross the ball into the Prestatyn area.

The lead was doubled just before half-time when Rose laid the ball off for Daniel Thomas to place the ball past Jon Dunt in the home goal. Prestatyn were almost allowed back into the game before the break but Ian Griffiths was denied by goalkeeper Lee Kendall as he made a fine close range save to push the ball against the crossbar. Ross Hannen could then only shoot wide from the rebound. Port Talbot took control of the game in the second half as Rose caused problems for the home side but at the other end Paul O’Neill came close to pulling a goal back for Prestatyn but his shot went over the bar midway through the second half.

The scoring was completed on 78 minutes when a looping header from Drew Fahiya made the points safe although Andy Moran had a chance from the home side but his shot hit the side netting as Port Talbot held on for a comfortable victory.

Principality Welsh Premier League

Tuesday, 30th March 2010

at Bastion Gardens, Prestatyn

Prestatyn Town 0-3 Port Talbot Town


Prestatyn Town


Port Talbot Town

Martin Rose (30)

Daniel Thomas (44)

Drew Fahiya (78)

Referee – Mr Lee Evans

Prestatyn Town

Team – Jon Dunt, Chris Davies, Jack Lewis, Dave Hayes, Paul O’Neill, Russ Jones, Ian Griffiths, Neil Gibson, Andy Moran, Steve Hoult, Ross Hannen

Subs – Steve Harris (rep Griffiths – 74), Dan Evans (rep Hannen – 62), Gareth Davies (Unused), Ethan Woodfine (Unused), Simon Williams (Unused)

Yellow Cards – Paul O’Neill (5), Dave Hayes (30), Neil Gibson (77) Red Cards – None

Goalscorers – None

Port Talbot Town

Team – Lee Kendall, Leigh De-Vulgt, Scott Barrow, Gareth Phillips, Matthew Rees, Lee Surman, Daniel Thomas, Lloyd Grist, Martin Rose, Liam McCreesh, Drew Fahiya

Subs – Lee John (rep Fahiya – 82), Nicky Holland (rep De-Vulgt – 82), Matthew Thompson (rep McCreesh – 76)

Yellow Cards – Gareth Phillips (56) Red Cards – None

Goalscorers – Martin Rose (30), Daniel Thomas (44), Drew Fahiya (78)

Attendance – 172